Versace for H&M

The Versace for H&M line will be out on November 17th and for the fist time I’m not excited nor counting down the days.

Truth is, I don’t like it.

Ok now. I can explain.

I agree that this picture from the campaign is just amazing and makes you want to buy it all:

 

The girls look amazing, the clothes look amazing, everything seems just perfect. It could be a picture from Versace’s new campaign. No fast fashion involved.

But if you think it through, you’ll realize that the clothes are too expensive for H&M standards. Due to the very wide distribution, I personally doubt that the quality of the materials will keep up with the price. I could be wrong, but I had been disappointed before.

Another reason I’m not very fond of this collection is the fact that it is made of single pieces, little combinable and with few accessories.

Take a look. A lot of dresses, many jackets, few skirts, some belts. Where is that beautiful handbag Daphne is carrying? And the necklaces and bracelets both girls are wearing?

The idea of capturing the strong imaginary evoked by a historic brand like Versace is great, and the “too much” is part of the game, anyhow I think they went too iconic and this will make the clothes feel old very soon.

Aside from these two, which are genius:

I would die to see Liz Hurley wearing the purple one in Gossip Girl for old times’ sake!

xx Sumi

3 thoughts on “Versace for H&M

  1. Woah! I’m really digging the template/theme of this blog.
    It’s simple, yet effective. A lot of times it’s very hard to get that “perfect balance” between superb usability and appearance.
    I must say that you’ve done a fantastic job with this.

    Also, the blog loads super quick for me on Chrome.

    Exceptional Blog!

    Like

  2. Hey like the post, your opinion is definitely justified, however don’t you think that Versace for H&M is a good way to bring designers to the high street and make the designs more attainable to the mass market. I mean Debenhams do it with Julian McDonald, Henry Holland etc. It allows everyone to have a go at high fashion without necessarily breaking the bank.

    I also do a blog. Do you have any tips on pulling the readers. Read my blog and see what you think.
    SFFxx

    Like

    1. Hi Style Freedom Fashion!
      I agree about the concept of making high fashion available to everyone, and in the past I loved other H&M’s collaborations. It’s such a great idea!
      But this collection is not winning me over because I find there’s too much Versace and not enough H&M and it’s too expensive and difficult to combine with other items. I was expecting more shoes, accessories, tops, bags that would be wearable again next year. What do you think?

      I checked you blog and I like it! 🙂

      x Sumi

      Like

Leave a Reply

