Occupation: Full-Time Mum

baby1_2622977b

My baby is turning 1 and as he grows and becomes more independent, I can’t help panicking at the thought that soon I’ll be back into the job market.

Unfortunately career wise, as we all know, an extended parental leave to raise another human being is considered a suicidal move. But, supposing I don’t want to lie in my CV, how can I put it otherwise, without mentioning the baby? For the last 12 months I’ve been working on leaving my mark on this world… seriously?

What if, instead, I’m proud to be a full-time mother and I think that this experience will have a positive impact on my work life? I mean, when I look back at all that I have learnt these last 12 months, I am awestruck. I am able to do things I didn’t think I could ever do. I have pushed and challenged my own limits in so many ways and I am really proud of who I am and what I have accomplished, so why hide it?

This past year I have worked harder than ever, and I believe that being a mother IS an occupation.

So here’s my Full-Time Mum’s CV!

Work Experience

FULL-TIME MUM (2014-ongoing)

I am responsible for my child’s intellectual, emotional and physical development, along with his general well-being.

  • able to work on 24/7 shifts
  • flexible attitude and positive approach
  • proven endurance on no-sleep
  • able to concentrate in noisy environment
  • excellent understanding of baby language
  • quick learning with no training
  • strong mentoring and motivational skills
  • able to plan ahead and manage time effectively

Areas of expertise:

  • crisis management
  • multitasking
  • negotiation
  • training and mentoring
  • team/relationship building
  • problem solving
  • child nutrition
  • first aid

Quite impressive, uh? And yet people think this isn’t a job.

One thought on “Occupation: Full-Time Mum

Leave a Reply

